collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: 150gr Powder Max Load Question  (Read 3592 times)

Offline reelamin

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Hunter
150gr Powder Max Load Question
« on: May 05, 2018, 09:08:12 PM »
I'm new to this muzzle loader hunting.  I have been reloading for decades...yes I'm old but I still can not find and answer to this question.   Why does 150gr seem to be a maximum load with muzzle loaders....but you don't see bullet weight factored in.   Center fire always and I mean always you see a reduced powder volume the heavier the bullet.  This is with the same powder not different powders.  Why do you not see a reduced powder charge for muzzle loaders even though the bullet weight increases and decreases?  Ballistically/Pressure speaking...something is wrong somewhere.  There is no way 100gr of powder with a 250gr bullet creates the same pressure as 100gr of powder with a 350gr bullet.   So, we should be able to load more than with a 250gr than a 350gr and maintain the same pressure level...right????

Offline Dan-o

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Explorer
Re: 150gr Powder Max Load Question
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2018, 09:11:23 PM »
Having shot thousands of max loads thru my muzzleloaders, I'm confident in stating that I don't know.

Tagging.
Member:   Yakstrakgutp (or whatever we are)
I love the BFRO!!!
I wonder how many people will touch their nose to their screen trying to read this...

Offline reelamin

• Hunter
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2018, 09:20:24 PM »
The "Typical 150gr is Max" load?  Serious question...really trying to figure this out.  Gotta wonder why Muzzy companies dont publish pressure data....I know they have the equipment and are using it.   

Having shot thousands of max loads thru my muzzleloaders, I'm confident in stating that I don't know.

Tagging.

Offline Buckblaster

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Scout
  • 2015 Wyoming Moose
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2018, 08:07:36 AM »