collapse

Advertisement


Poll

I understand why people might be hesitant to say what they have but I'm in the market and curious what folks have and if they feel its adequate

Dont have one, but wish I did
20 (28.2%)
Dont have one because Id never use it and its a waste of money
0 (0%)
2000-3500 running watt portable
8 (11.3%)
3501-5500 running watt portable
14 (19.7%)
5501-7500 running watt portable
12 (16.9%)
7501-9500 running watt portable
9 (12.7%)
9501-16kw running watt portable
2 (2.8%)
permanent hard-wired greater than .......(generac style)
6 (8.5%)
I run dual generators for greater watts. (two 7500's in parallel)
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 71

Author Topic: Generators......back up for home  (Read 3195 times)

Offline skeeter 20i

  • Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 701
  • Location: Spokane
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #60 on: December 05, 2019, 07:50:50 AM »
Wiring in a transfer switch is pretty darn easy.  Not sure if it has to be done by an electrician but ......   I bought a honda motor knock of generator at costco for about 1k.  It is 6800 watts at peak.  Transfer switch cost me about $350 (8 circuit) and about an hour to install.  I only run non ethanol, and fuel it up in October.  Start it up every other week to run for 10 minutes until March.  Then drain the fuel let it run dry and put it away.  Only thing I would do different was to buy a 10 circuit switch instead of an 8.

 :yeah: x2 this is exactly what I have done and would do differently next time.  The actual switch is a nothing to install.
"The world is changed by your example, not your opinion."

Online ballpark

  • Salty
  • Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Scout
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 263
  • Location: Kitsap County
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #61 on: December 05, 2019, 08:06:26 AM »
I wouldnt be on an auto set up....so the first thing I'd do would be to switch the main power off at the meter.  That would stop backfeed or the other way when the power came back on.

Don't forget your jacuzzi tub :chuckle:

Offline boneaddict

  • Site Sponsor
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Posts: 45799
  • Location: Selah, Washington
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #62 on: December 05, 2019, 10:35:55 AM »
lets see if I understand this right.  With the transfer switch I can only run the items that come off the 8 circuits or so, regardless of how many watts I'm putting out, but if I backfeed it through the dryer plug I can basically run anything I want off my main breaker panel and can adjust circuits there depending on the watts generated, used, need etc.  (yes of course the main coming in would be shut off.  I get that!, no really I do.

Online jmscon

  • Forum Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 1114
  • Location: Seattle
  • RMEF BHA TRCP
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #63 on: December 05, 2019, 12:12:48 PM »
Just remember a dryer plug is only rated for 30 amps or so. Start pushing more than that through it on a back feed you can over heat the wires and burn your house down.
My interpretation of the rules are open to interpretation.
Once I thought I was wrong but I was mistaken.

Online HUNTINCOUPLE

  • Lost Somewhere on the Praire of Klickitat Co. Chasing The Elusive BENCHLEG DEERS.
  • Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Old Salt
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 7160
  • Location: Lyle WA, 98635
  • Yep, my avatar is from my front porch.
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #64 on: December 05, 2019, 01:00:47 PM »
I wouldnt be on an auto set up....so the first thing I'd do would be to switch the main power off at the meter.  That would stop backfeed or the other way when the power came back on.

Don't forget your jacuzzi tub :chuckle:

Gotta have the important stuff in operation.
Slap some bacon on a biscut and lets go, were burrnin daylight!

Most peoples health is a decision not a condition?

Kill your television!  ICEMAN SAID TO!

Life Member of Hunting  Washington  Forum.

Offline HikerHunter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hunter
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2018
  • Posts: 145
  • Location: Bonney Lake
  • Groups: DU, NWTF, NRA, WHEIA
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #65 on: December 05, 2019, 02:56:58 PM »
Its stuck in my craw that the pump is a 3hp pump.   Its down 400 feet.    I'm not positive.  It might just be 1hp.   My memory isnt what it used to be.

A little late, but for what its worth, if you're getting flow from your well pump and its truly down 400 feet, your craw is right. You'd be disappointed with the performance of a 1hp at that depth.

Offline Ridgeratt

  • Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 3627
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #66 on: December 05, 2019, 04:30:14 PM »
lets see if I understand this right.  With the transfer switch I can only run the items that come off the 8 circuits or so, regardless of how many watts I'm putting out, but if I backfeed it through the dryer plug I can basically run anything I want off my main breaker panel and can adjust circuits there depending on the watts generated, used, need etc.  (yes of course the main coming in would be shut off.  I get that!, no really I do.

Bone
You could only run what the output of the generator is usually a 30 amp or 50 amp 220 receptacle. Or if you have 2 20 amp 120 volt circuits.

I am trying to understand why some folks are thinking they need to power the entire house. Even the Skool district I used to work for we only fed vital loads. Lights and the important loads. Not the classroom receptacles. But to each there own on needs.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 04:36:48 PM by Ridgeratt »

Offline boneaddict

  • Site Sponsor
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Posts: 45799
  • Location: Selah, Washington
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #67 on: December 05, 2019, 04:35:47 PM »
One 120/240V 30A locking outlet, a 120/240V 50A outlet (14-50R) and four 120V 20A GFCI outlets

Offline Ridgeratt

  • Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 3627
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #68 on: December 05, 2019, 04:42:05 PM »
One 120/240V 30A locking outlet, a 120/240V 50A outlet (14-50R) and four 120V 20A GFCI outlets

What I see is that you have a 30 amp RV Recp. 1 50 amp 240 Recp. and then a pair of Duplex Recep just like in your home next to your chair. How many reset do you have on the face plate? The other is they are not gangable usually they are a one or the other.

There are only 4 resets on the panel on this unit 
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 04:48:10 PM by Ridgeratt »

Offline boneaddict

  • Site Sponsor
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Posts: 45799
  • Location: Selah, Washington
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #69 on: December 05, 2019, 04:53:05 PM »
Still sitting in the back of my truck.  I was just pulling that off of specs.   No idea.    I think my first hurdle is that my well is on a second service, right next to my meter and main cut off.    I'm concerned if I go the electrician route and transfer switch and (50 amp input plug) I wont have power to the well. ???   

Offline KFhunter

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20536
  • Location: The Wedge
  • My posts do not reflect an official opinion of HW
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #70 on: December 05, 2019, 05:36:25 PM »
I get more from the generator using (2) 20amp duplexs and two cords than I do using the single 30amp twistlock and 1 cord. The 30amp is for an rv and is only single pole 120v so you can't get 240v so it'll only power half the panel.

Oh I see you said your twist lock 30amp is 120/240 volts? I don't get that? Is it not for an RV?





Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 05:43:22 PM by KFhunter »

Offline KFhunter

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20536
  • Location: The Wedge
  • My posts do not reflect an official opinion of HW
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #71 on: December 05, 2019, 05:45:18 PM »
Do you not have a pressure tank for your well inside the house?  That sucks, your well will cycle each time you turn on a faucet or flush a toilet

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


Online highside74

  • Political Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 1696
  • Location: Eatonville wa
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #72 on: December 05, 2019, 06:28:13 PM »
Didn't read the whole thread but we used a panel interlock and wired in a 50 amp generator plug into a double pull 50 amp breaker. You flip the interlock to shut off power company feed and then flip the 50 amp breaker. The generator then feeds the whole panel. Pick and choose which circuits you want on and turn the rest off.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 06:46:07 PM by highside74 »

Offline boneaddict

  • Site Sponsor
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Posts: 45799
  • Location: Selah, Washington
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #73 on: December 05, 2019, 06:32:33 PM »
Thatís what I was envisioning.   

Offline KFhunter

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 20536
  • Location: The Wedge
  • My posts do not reflect an official opinion of HW
Re: Generators......back up for home
« Reply #74 on: December 05, 2019, 06:57:10 PM »
Didn't read the whole thread but we used a panel interlock and wired in a 50 amp generator plug into a double pull 50 amp breaker. You flip the interlock to shut off power company feed and then flip the 50 amp breaker. The generator then feeds the whole panel. Pick and choose which circuits you want on and turn the rest off.

that's the easy button, but I'm not sure all panels can be retrofitted for this  :dunno:

what's it cost to install a whole new panel?  I guess if it isn't full you could move all the breakers down and put in a new 50a up top and use an interlock.

 


* Advertisement

* Recent Topics

Grand Teton park to begin killing invasive mountain goats by JimmyHoffa
[Today at 08:46:25 AM]


ALERT - TAKE ACTION: Washington: Mag Ban & Other Bills Heading to Senate Floor by Boss .300 winmag
[Today at 08:36:11 AM]


Boat stolen!!! Please keep an eye out by Buckmark
[Today at 08:35:21 AM]


Seattle Sportsmen's Convention & Fundraiser -- February 29, 2020 in Lynnwood by Boss .300 winmag
[Today at 08:22:28 AM]


Firestick by Bigshooter
[Today at 08:18:16 AM]


Best of 2010's by Boss .300 winmag
[Today at 08:15:07 AM]


Jakeland 2020 mountain line by Machias
[Today at 07:59:43 AM]


Hungry Cougar by wolfbait
[Today at 07:46:00 AM]


Fishing Photos by WALLEYEGUY
[Today at 07:38:13 AM]


Deer Antler Point Regs by hunter399
[Today at 06:33:05 AM]


Rifle rebarreling Prices by Jonathan_S
[Today at 06:19:16 AM]


Alumaweld 19ft boat with Mercury 115hp Pump and 8hp kicker Reduced to $21,000 by cohoho
[Today at 05:44:34 AM]


Are turkey decoys helpful? by Skyvalhunter
[Today at 05:12:29 AM]


Trapping opportunity, Bothell, bobcat by JakeLand
[Today at 04:34:54 AM]


Taurus 44 Special by toxxic
[Yesterday at 10:39:30 PM]


FS: Vortex Viper Red Dot 6 MOA by jjness11
[Yesterday at 10:23:21 PM]


FS: Dies - .270 WSM by jjness11
[Yesterday at 10:22:51 PM]


FS: Garmin Rino 750 by xXLojackXx
[Yesterday at 10:07:48 PM]


Calling all reloaders by wadu1
[Yesterday at 09:52:29 PM]


FS -Pelican Case-1560LFC by CoryTDF
[Yesterday at 09:07:25 PM]