collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Trailers for bikes  (Read 4423 times)

Offline Feelin Hornady

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
Trailers for bikes
« on: April 18, 2014, 03:11:59 PM »
Hey I'm new to this site and was wondering if anybody has any experience w/ trailers behind mt bikes when going in behind closed gates. Do they work? How have you rigged em up? Make them yourself? How the hell do you stop (my brakes cause me to skid on gravel goin downhill w/ weight)? Sorry if i missed another post about this topic somewhere else im not very good at using these forums. Thanks.

Offline MikeC

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Hunter
  • Groups: RMEF
Re: Trailers for bikes
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 03:39:44 PM »
I've never done this but am very intrigued. I saw a company at the Puyallup sportsmans show that made a nice looking heavy duty trailer but remembering it was pricy. I'll have to dig out my goody bag to find their business info... Following

Offline tbotts

• Past Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Hunter
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2014, 04:25:03 PM »
Some friends and I have used a kids trailer to pack our camping gear behind gates on mtn bikes.  Tents, food, clothing etc.  You can find them at walmart, target, etc.  Put a piece of plywood in it for a solid bottom.  It worked pretty well.

Offline TheHunt

• Washington For Wildlife
  • Old Salt
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2014, 06:32:32 PM »
Search this site you will see lots of comments. 

The main item to consider is how much weight it can handle and if you need brakes on the trailer. 
275 down 2

Offline RAZORBILL

• Tracker
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2014, 06:53:23 AM »
I haven't used a trailer but I do use my bike.  If you don't already get a bike with disc brakes, makes it much easier to control the braking.  Sometimes downhills are just too steep not to skid.  I just get off and walk if it gets stupid and I'm making too much noise.