Free: Contests & Raffles.
If it's not defined as the same then it's not the same.
Both lost in court, the determination was, if you shot it it was harvested, nothing says you must have it in your possession, the judge said unless you could prove it was still alive, then your tag was filled. Tule Lake is notorious for handing out tickets for non recovered waterfowl, when you continue to hunt until your limit is in hand. But I was looking for something firm and written.
On two ocassions with big game, I have seen a hunter shoot and not recover his game, only to be cited, when he continued to hunt. The reasoning was harvest does not mean possession. On many occasions from Potholes, to Tule lake to the lower Columbia I have seen waterfowl sailed and not recovered, and then counted toward your bag limit, when checked by the leo’s. What are your thoughts on this, I can not find anything written.
Quote from: Mallardmasher on September 26, 2018, 02:11:50 PMOn two ocassions with big game, I have seen a hunter shoot and not recover his game, only to be cited, when he continued to hunt. The reasoning was harvest does not mean possession. On many occasions from Potholes, to Tule lake to the lower Columbia I have seen waterfowl sailed and not recovered, and then counted toward your bag limit, when checked by the leo’s. What are your thoughts on this, I can not find anything written.The keyword is "take" (harvest isn't in the federal waterfowl regs which states then adopt).50 CFR 20.24 states "No person shall take in any 1 calendar day, more than the daily bag limit"."Take" is defined as "to pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collect, or attempt to pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collectSo in your instance of a guy sailing birds and not retrieving them not only is he in violation of wastage but also potentially over limit since any birds he shot/wounded/killed counts towards his limit.
Quote from: bigtex on September 26, 2018, 03:53:05 PMQuote from: Mallardmasher on September 26, 2018, 02:11:50 PMOn two ocassions with big game, I have seen a hunter shoot and not recover his game, only to be cited, when he continued to hunt. The reasoning was harvest does not mean possession. On many occasions from Potholes, to Tule lake to the lower Columbia I have seen waterfowl sailed and not recovered, and then counted toward your bag limit, when checked by the leo’s. What are your thoughts on this, I can not find anything written.The keyword is "take" (harvest isn't in the federal waterfowl regs which states then adopt).50 CFR 20.24 states "No person shall take in any 1 calendar day, more than the daily bag limit"."Take" is defined as "to pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collect, or attempt to pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collectSo in your instance of a guy sailing birds and not retrieving them not only is he in violation of wastage but also potentially over limit since any birds he shot/wounded/killed counts towards his limit.Great explanation.With this explanation it seems that even shooting at,missing would still be counted.Correct?