collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: 10x vs 12x binos, is the extra magnification worth it?  (Read 7497 times)

Offline 7mmfan

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Old Salt
    • https://www.facebook.com/rory.oconnor.9480
10x vs 12x binos, is the extra magnification worth it?
« on: April 07, 2022, 08:28:53 AM »
I've been considering for a while upgrading to 12x binos. I've been using the Leupold BX3 Pro Guides 10x42 for several years now and I'm very happy with them. However, since I got them I've started doing a lot more hunting in big country and have found myself feeling a little under powered at times. I do have the 15-30x50 Leupold Gold Ring compact spotter, and it's a great tool, but I can't glass with that thing.

So is the 12x jump worth it? For guys that use them, can you effectively glass while holding them, or do they NEED to be supported? When glassing close, say under 100 yards are you way over powered at that point?

Ultimately, I just don't want to invest that kind of money in something that only has a mediocre increase in effectiveness. I'm very much a tool for specific uses kind of guy, and don't like lots of overlap. I need to feel like I gained a lot by spending the money.

I hunt, therefore I am.... I fish, therefore I lie.

Offline Rainier10

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Explorer
Re: 10x vs 12x binos, is the extra magnification worth it?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2022, 08:32:59 AM »
I have 10x42's for hunting.  For sitting and glassing I have 12x50's.  A tripod makes them much more useful and you can glass longer and more efficiently with the support.
Pain is temporary, achieving the goal is worth it.

I didn't say it would be easy, I said it would be worth it.

Every father should remember that one day his children will follow his example instead of his advice.